• Starting date: 2024/06/24
  • End: 2024/06/28

  • LOCATION: Haus Sexten - Via Dolomiti 45, 39030, Sexten


    2023 marked yet another unprecedented milestone in gravitational-wave (GW) astronomy, as pulsar timing arrays (PTAs) around the globe hit media headlines by announcing positive evidence for a GW signal in their data, opening a completely new window onto the Universe. By monitoring tens of millisecond pulsars for decades, PTAs are sensitive to nano-Hz frequency GWs; a window in the GW spectrum that is ten orders of magnitude lower than what is probed by ground-based interferometers. This is the realm of merging supermassive black-hole binaries (SMBHBs) and extreme physics in the early Universe, and PTAs are emerging as a new tool for probing galaxy and SMBH formation and evolution as well as cosmology.

    The International PTA (IPTA) brings together the major international collaborations working on PTA science, namely: the European PTA (EPTA), the Indian PTA (InPTA), the Parkes PTA (PPTA), NANOGrav and the MeerKAT PTA. The Chinese PTA (CPTA) is not yet formally part of IPTA but acts as an observer. The IPTA annual meetings provide an opportunity for regional PTAs to share results, expertise and data and to work towards the IPTA goal of combining regional PTA data to enhance PTA science.
    Riding the wave of the recent results, the IPTA meeting this year will open up to the astrophysics, cosmology and fundamental physics communities at large. The meeting will consist of four days of open sessions plus one ‘closed day’ dedicated to IPTA internal matters. During this day, non-IPTA participants will have the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful surroundings of Sexten, immersed in the iconic Dolomites.

    Please make sure to check the IPTA – Code of Conduct.pdf

    Child care: contact us for information.

    Image: Danielle Futselaar, MPIfR

    Bus reservation is OPEN.



    Senior: 350 Eur - Student: 300 Eur




    Chair: Dr. Nataliya Porayko (EPTA), University of Milano Bicocca
    Dr. Siyuan Chen (CPTA/EPTA), Kavli Institute for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Peking University, China
    Dr. Daniel Readorn (PPTA), Swinburne University of Technology, Melbourne, Austraila
    Dr. Jaikhomba Singha (APTA/MPTA/InPTA), University of Cape Town, South Africa
    Dr. Maria Charisi (NG/EPTA), Washington State University, US; Foundation for Research and Technology–Hellas, Greece
    Dr. Kai Schmitz (NANOGrav, University of Münster, Münster, Germany)
    Dr. Rami Mandow (PPTA/DIVERSITY), Macquarie University, Australia; CSIRO, Australia
    Dr. Huanchen Hu (EPTA), Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy
    Dr. Mayuresh Surnis (InPTA), IISER Bhopal, India


    Prof. Alberto Sesana, Chair (Universita` di Milano Bicocca)
    Dr. Matteo Bonetti (Universita` di Milano Bicocca)
    Dr. Aurelien Chalumeau (Universita` di Milano Bicocca)
    Ms. Irene Ferranti (Universita` di Milano Bicocca)
    Dr. David Izquierdo-Villalba (Universita` di Milano Bicocca)
    Ms. Beatrice Moreschi (Universita` di Milano Bicocca)
    Dr. Nataliya Porayko (Universita` di Milano Bicocca)
    Dr. Golam Shaifullah (Universita` di Milano Bicocca)
    Dr. Mikel Falxa (LPC2E / Universita` di Milano Bicocca)