• Starting date: 2017/07/17
  • End: 2017/07/21

  • LOCATION: Sexten Primary School - Via Panorama 6, Sexten


    Angular momentum and mass are efficiently transported in gravitationally unstable disks, which leads to global evolution even in the absence of fragmentation, often leading to mass growth of a central gravitating object such a star in a protostellar disk or a massive black hole at the center of galaxies. Different communities are working on these diverse topics, often using similar approaches and computational methods to study gravitational instability, an inherently nonlinear phenomenon. However such communities have very little interaction as they deal with very different astrophysical scales, from cosmological to planetary, despite the common background physics involved. With this workshop we aim at bringing together worldwide experts of these various communities, especially theoreticians and computational astrophysicists, to assess and discuss the latest understanding of gravitational instability and, in particular, disk fragmentation.

    We will also have a limited number of observational astronomers who are leading efforts to find evidences of such phenomena in nature, and who have been involved in recent efforts with theorists to develop mock observations of simulations. We will focus on the most important open issues, such as the effect of radiative physics and energy feedback processes, the onset of gravitoturbulence and its back reaction on instability, the role of matter infall and tidal perturbations in disk instability. We will foster interaction between the various communities, setting concrete goals such as a new international code comparison project that should settle the level of agreement and disagreement between various computational techniques in modeling disk instability and fragmentation.



    To be defined



    Organisers L. Mayer, A. Burkert, R. Helled, F. Meru

    Confirmed speakers

      Avishai Dekel Muhammad Latif Duncan Forgan Phil Armitage Kaitlin Kratter Ralf Klessen Bruce Elmegreen Jonathan Tan Elena D'Onghia Roman Rafikov Naoki Yoshida Jorge Cuadra Eduard Vorobyov Ken Rice Philip Hopkins Frederic Bournaud Manuel Behrendt Sergei Nayakshin Cathie Clarke Dimitris Stamatellos Mark Krumholz Victor Debattista Reinhard Genzel Linda Tacconi Leonardo Testi Giuseppe Lodato