• Starting date: 2022/07/18
  • End: 2022/07/22

  • LOCATION: Haus Sexten - Via Dolomiti 45, 39030, Sexten


    A conference in honor of Monica Tosi

    This conference aims to honor Dr. Monica Tosi’s past achievements and ongoing contributions to the topic of near-field cosmology with galaxies of the Local Volume, starting from our own Milky Way all the way out to the famous most metal-poor dwarf galaxy I Zwicky 18, located at ~ 18 Mpc. Scientific sessions will highlight different aspects of a unified approach meant to improve our understanding of the formation and evolution of nearby galaxies of different morphological types both from an observational and theoretical point of view. Particular focus will be given to the interpretation of resolved stellar populations in star clusters and galaxies, the derivation of star-formation histories, the characterization of variable stars, the determination of chemical abundances in stars and gas, the computation of chemical evolution models and the derivation of dynamical models of interacting galaxies within the framework of hierarchical formation. The scientific program will conclude with an overview of the contributions of future ground- and space-based instrumentation to this astrophysical field.

    Social Activities

    On Sunday 17th July, there will be a Welcome Cocktail. It will be held outside of the Haus Sexten, Via Dolomiti 45, Sesto, from 18.00 to 19.00.

    On Thursday 21st July, there will be the social dinner (outside, weather permitting)

    Invited reviews :
    Angela Bragaglia
    Corinne Charbonnel
    Michele Cignoni
    Gisella Clementini
    Angelez Diaz
    Laura Greggio
    Vanessa Hill
    Bruno Leibundgut
    Davide Massari
    Francesca Matteucci
    Kristen Mc Quinn

    (Full resolution images are available in the Related File section – see below)


    Bus reservation is now open


    300 Eur



    Scientific Organizing Committee

    Alessandra Aloisi – STScI (co-chair)
    Francesca Annibali – INAF-OAS Bologna (co-chair)
    Angela Bragaglia – INAF-OAS Bologna
    Michele Cignoni – University of Pisa (co-chair)
    Bruce Elmegreen – Research Div. IBM
    Giuliana Fiorentino – INAF-OA Roma
    Antonella Nota – ESA/STScI
    Donatella Romano – INAF-OAS Bologna
    Elena Sacchi – AIP
    L.S. Pilyugin – MAO Kiev
    Eline Tolstoy – Groningen University

    Local Organizing Committee

    Raffaele Pascale
    Francesca Annibali
    Donatella Romano
    Alessandra Aloisi
    Michele Cignoni